Week 15: Learning Journal Assignment

Dominique Burns, INFO 233-10, Professors Buchanan and Harlan, Learning Journal Assignment Week 15

Instagram is more than just seflies and pictures of food. It’s a great social networking site for connecting with friends, family members and even classmates. The site is user friendly and doesn’t require a lot of up keep. Posts require only a photo and a one-sentence caption. You can also connect the site to other personal and professional learning networks to seamlessly share your posts.

13

I use Instagram for a few different reasons. The first is connecting with friends and family. I like to share what is going on in my day-to-day and to see what is going on in theirs. Next, I use Instagram to connect with classmates. The other day I posted a photo of an assignment I was proud of and this lead to a conversation with that classmate about what classes we were taking this summer.

2

Another reason I like Instagram is for professional development. I can share pictures of my library displays and different work related projects. I can also get ideas from classmates and other library professionals. Instagram is fast and allows me to quickly browse through images and captions. If I want to search for something specific on Instagram, I use their hashtag system. When a user posts on Instagram they can hashtag key words related to the post. For example if I share a photo of a library display, I’ll use the hashtag “#librarydisplay” or if I want images of displays I do a quick search using that hashtag.

3

I definitely recommend making an Instagram account, even to just explore photos and content. I find that a lot of users will share blog links with more information related to their photo. You can learn more about the display they made or an event they held in their school library.

Categories: 2016, INFO 233 Sec 10, Personal Learning Network Learning Journal, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

