Week 12: Learning Journal Assignment

Dominique Burns, INFO 233-10, Professors Buchanan and Harlan, Learning Journal Assignment Week 12

I have been wanting to find library games that I could introduce to students at the elementary level. These learning journals are a great outlet for learning about “New tools, best practices for educational trends, and new ideas” (Buchanan & Harlan, n.d.). I thought I would focus this week’s journal entry on different types of tools out there for teaching kids library skills. As I was exploring on Pinterest I found some online games that other librarians tried in their own school libraries and recommended. We have a technology lab connected to the elementary library where I work and I think it would be so much fun to do a library skills lesson using one of these online games.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 11.02.06 AM

The first online library game site I loved was called Shelver. The site allows students to put fictional or non-fiction books in order. There are levels that students can advance to as they progress in the game. This game was pretty simple and straightforward. I think it would be great to use in a library skills lesson with younger elementary students.

1

The next online library game I discovered was Flood. Students must save the books from a flood. There are different activities, such as grouping books together by genre. I think this game is great for helping students make connections between the books on the shelves. It requires them to practice critical thinking skills. I would use this game with second and third grade. I think the game might be a little too young for forth and fifth grade students.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 11.23.22 AM

Lightening librarian is another online library game that is more advanced than the other two. It reminded me of the Pokemon games and I think students will like it for that reason. The game requires students to sort books and put them away quickly in a certain amount of time. This game could be used with second, third, forth, and fifth grade students.

2

The final game I explored was Order in the Library. This game is definitely for older elementary students, even though the graphics are deceivingly younger looking. The early levels could be used with younger elementary students, but the games get harder and harder. I really liked that they offered sorting, shelving, and reordering games. There are eleven levels and students can play as expert, master or genius.

Categories: 2016, Personal Learning Network Learning Journal, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

