Week 11: Learning Journal Assignment

Dominique Burns, INFO 233-10, Professors Buchanan and Harlan, Learning Journal Assignment Week 11

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 9.25.58 AM

I was struggling to find my blog topic for this week’s post when I got a LinkedIn email about jobs I may be interested in. LinkedIn is a “social networking site designed specifically for the business community” (WhatIs.com). I made an account on LinkedIn many moons ago and was somewhat active on the site at one time. I decided to visit the site again and was greeted with a welcome back message. The message as seen in the above photo was encouraging me to be more active on the site. Normally I wouldn’t think too much about this pop-up message, but what caught my attention were two headlines; “Build my professional network” and “Stay up-to-date with my industry.” These headlines couldn’t have come at a more perfect time! I’ve been trying to expand my professional learning network through online communities related to graduate school and librarianship. I clicked “Stay up-to-date with my industry” and a few pages later found an Interests page. The Interests page included a lot of different options for connecting and learning with other professionals. I explored the group page as it pertained to what I was looking for. I found the American Library Association group page and the San Jose State University group page. I also found the San Jose State University Special Libraries Association group page. I joined these three groups and signed up for notifications about updates and new posts. I’m going to need to make an Unroll.Me account to pile all my newsletters and updates in to one email. Otherwise I think my inbox will explode.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 9.36.22 AMI think the American library Association group on LinkedIn will be one my favorites, because it connects other information professionals and librarians. I tend to be more of a lurker in online communities. I prefer exploring the groups and the posts versus commenting or posting. There were some really neat posts about the 21st century library and makerspaces. It was neat to see what other individuals in the librarian profession were talking about in a larger online community. I’m excited to continue exploring the different groups and to learn more from other librarians out there!

Categories: 2016, Personal Learning Network Learning Journal, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

