Week 9: Learning Journal Assignment

Dominique Burns, INFO 233-10, Professors Buchanan and Harlan, Learning Journal Assignment Week 9

Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 11.16.32 AM.png

Last week “Library Journal” published an online article called Movers & Shakers 2016: The People Shaping the Future of Libraries. The article talked about 54 people considered to be leaders in the librarian profession. The 54 individuals were broken down in to six groups, which were advocates, change agents, community builders, educators, innovators, and tech leaders. As a librarian in training I find that I am more and more interested in the role of the library in our technological world. This is why I decided to research the individuals under tech leaders. After exploring the nine profiles I found that I loved the profile and article on Erin Berman. Berman is an Innovations Manager at San Jose Public Library. Even cooler is the fact that she graduated with a master in library and information science from the same university I am attending!

Movers2016webBigBerman
Berman’s motto is “The world is my playground and I intend to jump on all the equipment.” I think this motto clearly defines her outlook on work and life in general. She focuses on implementing events and programs that give people technology skills. While I am a big advocate of reading and literacy, I think that the primary role of the library is to provide patrons with information in different forms. When I read that Berman believed in the same notion, I couldn’t contain my excitement. Some of the technology focused events/programs she has done include STEM, Virtual Privacy Lab, and a recording studio in the teen center. Berman also implemented makerspaces in her library, but made sure to survey patrons in order to figure out their technology needs. If you want to learn more about Berman click here to read about this amazing librarian!

Categories: 2016, INFO 233, INFO 233 Sec 10, Library, Personal Learning Network Learning Journal, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

