Week 8: Learning Journal Assignment

Dominique Burns, INFO 233-10, Professors Buchanan and Harlan, Learning Journal Assignment Week 8

2

Lately I have been exploring virtual makerspaces that I could tie in with the technology curriculum at the school where I work. The school is a K-12 science and technology charter school here in Colorado. Since this week we are learning about technology trends, I thought it would be fun to try out a new online resource. I decided to explore the “Best Websites for Teaching & Learning” link on this week’s module.

1When I first arrived at the American Association of School Librarians website I clicked on the 2015 recommendations and then “Social Networking & Communication.” After exploring the list of options, I went with the site StoryboardThat. I chose this site for two reasons. The first was because I am the Anime and Manga club sponsor where I work, and clubs at this school are a class once a week during block schedule. I thought that it could potentially make for a fun club activity. The second reason was that I wanted to see if I could use it to create a virtual makerspace for students in the library.

I made an account and decided to try making my own storyboard. I really liked that there were so many creative options to choose from. I was able to choose scenes, characters, textables, shapes and different locations for my story. Everything was drag and drop, which made learning to use the site fairly easy. I could even customize my character’s hair, eyes, and skin color. I have to say after making my own storyboard that I love the site! I can picture setting up Chromebooks in the library for a virtual makerspace activity and/or implementing this in the Anime and Manga club.

 

I’m excited to show my students this site and I’m pretty sure they will make way better storyboards than the one I did. Here is my storyboard:

3

 

Categories: 2016, INFO 233, INFO 233 Sec 10, Personal Learning Network Learning Journal, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Week 8: Learning Journal Assignment

  1. Again I love how you are using your PLN to explore your own practice and how it works both for your interests and needs of the community!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

