Week 1: Learning Journal Assignment

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 5.50.44 PM

Dominique Burns

INFO 233-10, Professors Buchanan and Harlan

Learning Journal Assignment Week 1

In LIBR 266 one of the assignments was to pretend buy books for the San Jose Public Library using Library Journal, Publishers Weekly and School Library Journal. Following the detailed instructions and requirements I flipped through countless pages of magazines and journals. These publications gave me numerous ideas and book suggestions, however the process took a while and felt very one-dimensional. I don’t want to take away from what I learned with the assignment, because I do now utilize these publications. I access them through the magazine application on my iPad. Nicole A. Cooke (2011) writes, “Librarians owe it to their clients and to themselves as competent professionals, to remain abreast of trends and developments in the field” (p. 2). I agree with Cooke (2011) and I think that because I work with high school students I have become prone to using online platforms more frequently in my job.

The students at the high school I work at have access to information 24/7 and in order to keep up professionally with their information needs I have started to utilize different online platforms. I use these online platforms to provide my students answers and to grow the high school’s library collection. I love the site Goodreads.com when it comes to not only researching books, but also connecting with others. I can get book recommendations based off my own personal reads or my student’s interests. The site gives me immediate access to user made book lists and online book groups. I can add and connect with friends, other librarians, educators, authors, book reviewers, and general users on the site. I constantly get ideas for new programs, books, and even displays from other users. I’ve had more than one occasion where a student comes in to the library and asks for book recommendations. Since these students have access to information quickly, it is easy to lose them if I don’t have an answer. It sounds a little silly, but that is the world that many of our teen library patrons live in. Goodreads.com allows me to type in any book title, author, and/or genre to search for book recommendations. It takes me seconds to pull up information and provide any answers I may not have.

What I like about the site is not just the quickness it provides me with information, but the wide professional learning network it gives me. The site offers users the opportunity to be a lurker, participant, or leader (Buchanan, Developing your PLN, 2015). I can be as active as I want on the site when it comes to “growing, cultivating, and sustaining” my “professional learning network (PLN)” (The Tenacious Teacher-Librarian Blog, 2015). I’m a fan of Goodreads and if you are familiar with the site I’d love to hear more opinions about using it as a resource for librarians. Do you like it? Do you think it works? How do you use the site?

References

 Buchanan, S. (2015). Developing your pln [Online Lecture].

Retrieved from

http://hanakoa.sjsu.edu/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=c7f40fdc-6226-4042-8f20-4a6d59aff11f

Cooke, N.A. (2011, May 31). Professional development 2.0 for librarians: Developing an online personal learning network (pln). World Library and Information Congress,1-13.

Goodreads (n.d.) Retrieved from

http://www.goodreads.com

 The Tenacious Teacher-Librarian [Blog].

Retrieved from

https://thetenacioustl.wordpress.com/2015/01/25/growing-cultivating-and-sustaining-a-professional-learning-network-pln/

Categories: 2016, INFO 233 Sec 10, Personal Learning Network Learning Journal, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

